News‎ > ‎

Missing trophies . . . and bowlers?

posted Nov 7, 2012, 12:21 PM by Malcolm Fletcher   [ updated Dec 1, 2014, 9:08 AM by stephen wall ]
Despite two calls from competitions secretary Phil King for clubs to return all trophies for engraving ahead of the annual dinner, there are still a good many missing.

They are the trophies that went to the winners of divisions 3, 5 and 6 last season – and those that went to this year’s winners of the Mixed Doubles, Under-18 and Under-15 Merits, and Junior Doubles.

League officials are determined to get as many individual honours winners to the dinner at the Telford Whitehouse Hotel on Saturday, January 12, and are once again stressing that there is no limit on the number of tickets that clubs can have this time around. The very last date to book them from Malcolm Fletcher (01952-771134) is December 3. Cost is £18 adults and just £5 for juniors.

And with that in mind the winners of the divisional averages were confirmed at the November Management meeting. The bowlers we want to see picking up their rewards in person on January 12 are:

Division 1 – Allan Gaut (Wrock Wd A); 2 – Marie Pryce (Allscott A); 3 Neil Massey (Donn Wd A).

Division 4 – Neil Caswell (Broseley B); 5 – Paul Minor (Ercall Magna); 6 – William Eggerton (Maddocks C).

Saturday Division – Rob Burroughs (St Georges)

At the management meeting the following decisions were made:

* Go ahead with Mike Beckett’s computerised results system next year with all match cards kept as back-up. It will be embedded into the league’s current website

* All match fees will rise by 5p next year. Treasurer Celia Miles to conduct a review of league finances, including prizemoney, honoraria and team fees etc

* Shifnal B accepted promotion as division 4 champions on a Monday to a place in division 3 on Fridays in 2013, giving the top 3 divisions 14 teams.