News‎ > ‎

Proud Junior Record To Defend

posted Apr 9, 2014, 5:47 AM by Malcolm Fletcher   [ updated Apr 11, 2014, 7:59 AM by stephen wall ]
Shirt presentation
Three teams representing Mid Shropshire will aim to build on the league’s proud record in the Shropshire junior inter-league championship on Saturday, April 12, in Wem. 

And the under-18s will do so wearing new shirts carrying the name of Dennis Lewis, as part of tributes to the late chairman who served the league from 2003 to ’13 and did such sterling work on the junior scene. The shirts have been kindly sponsored by

Mid Shropshire’s A team have won the one-day county title for the last three years but, having lost a number of bowlers due to the age limit, a new-look squad will need to be at their best this weekend. They have been drawn in the qualifying group at Wem Albion alongside a strong-looking Whitchurch A squad, Market Drayton A and the team from host league Wem. 

Mid Shropshire B, winners of the consolation crown last year in Ludlow, are in the group at Wem USC. 

With 12 teams entering there are three groups of four teams and players and officials are asked to be at their venue for 9.30am, bearing in mind there are diversions in Wem due to on-going road works. 

The group winners and best runners-up will qualify for the semi-finals to be played later in the day at the green at Wem BC not used for qualifying. 

Following Saturday's competition the county's junior selectors will meet on Wednesday to pick a team for the opening British junior county championship group game against the Potteries on May 11. 

The full draw for the qualifying groups is: 

At Wem USC (i/c Dave Kibbler) – Whitchurch C, Ludlow A, Mid Shropshire B, Market Drayton B. 

At Wem BC (i/c Barry Jennings) – Whitchurch B, Ludlow B, Mid Shropshire C, Tanners Shropshire. 

At Wem Albion (i/c Ant Lewis) – Whitchurch A, Market Drayton A, Wem, Mid Shropshire A

Mid Shropshire’s squads for Saturday are: 

A team (manager Phil King): 

Justin Pegram, Aaron King, Jamie Fletcher, Josh Cotton, Phil Jones, Jodie Rutter 

B team (manager Rob Burroughs): 

Harry Church, Kieran Buckley, Sophie Massey-Jones, Emma Massey-Jones, Joe Killen, Laura Taylor, Chelsea Mills 

C team (manager Steve Roberts): 

Daniel Stanley, Tom Killen, Charlie Steventon, Holly Rosser, Sam Simmonds, Ryan Bridge, Will Anson