News‎ > ‎

Round In Lead Role & Annual Dinner

posted Jan 13, 2014, 5:26 AM by Malcolm Fletcher
Sean Round is the new chairman of the Mid Shropshire League.

The Bowring stalwart was elected to succeed the late Dennis Lewis at the league’s AGM at Wellington’s Sir John Bayley Club, on Tuesday, January 7.

And Round, who was one of three candidates approached by league officers as they struggled to come to terms with their shock loss in November, said: “I know I have very big shoes to try and fill, but I will do my very best.”

A minute’s silence in memory of Lewis was observed at the AGM, which was preceded by a 30 minute talk and presentation on Hate Crime Awareness by Ann Shaw, a tactical equality and diversity advisor from West Mercia Police.

Rules for the league’s new Thursday night division were approved at the annual meeting with 14 clubs set to launch the eight-a-side structure with a unique points scoring system in April.

Officers hope to get the permission of Dennis’s wife, June, to name the new Thursday Division in his honour, and are actively seeking other ideas for lasting legacies to a man who revived the fortunes of Mid Shropshire.

Reflecting on another fine season in 2013 that saw the introduction of the Mike Beckett computerised results system and continued domination by the league’s juniors, secretary Malcolm Fletcher said: “We have plenty to be proud of and we continue to make progress.

“And that is exactly what Dennis would want us to do – to build on the firm foundations he did so much to construct.

“He was never one for standing still and how proud he would be that we have so much to look forward to – a new Thursday Division, revamped Ashton Trophy knockouts, more and innovative competitions aimed at the young bowlers in the league and Mike Potter about to be the league’s nomination for Count President in 2015.”

On a night when all other league officers were re-elect en bloc, treasurer Celia Miles reported a profit of £7.67 on 2013, the one concern for Mid Shropshire chiefs being the need to find a brand new set of selectors for the senior inter-league team.

It was Presidential norminee Potter who was in the spotlight in front of a 194 crowd at the league’s annual dinner on Saturday, January 11, at the Telford Whitehouse Hotel with a moving speech before proposing a toast to the memory of Dennis.

Current County President John Hughes replied and helped present the prizes along with fellow guests Katie Carpenter of league sponsors Molson Coors and county and junior selector Robert Burroughs.

St Georges and Albrighton were the big winners on the night, both receiving two divisional winners trophies.

The Dragons regained the first division crown and added the Saturday A division title while Albrighton finished top of division three on Friday nights and division five on Mondays.

Alan Jones of Broseley was crowned league Merit winner and there was a special presentation to members of the Shropshire Ladies team who won the British Ladies county championship last year, with captains Mabel Finnigan and Trish Jones to the fore.


DIVISION ONE – Champions: St Georges A

Runners-up: Newport A; Third: Bowring A

AVERAGES winner: John Roberts senior (Madeley CC)

DIVISION TWO – Champions: Donnington Wood A

Runners-up: Shifnal A; Third: Sir John Bayley B

AVERAGES winner: Mark Williams (Donnington Wood)

DIVISION THREE – Champions: Albrighton A

Runners-up: Maddocks A; Third: Horsehay B

AVERAGES winner: Keith Bottle (Edgmond)

DIVISION FOUR – Champions: Chelmarsh

Runners-up: Madeley CC C; Third: Horsehay C

AVERAGES winner: Barbara Dearne (Chelmarsh)

DIVISION FIVE – Champions: Albrighton B

Runners-up: Bylet C; Third: Shifnal C

AVERAGES winner: Pat Kinsey (Albrighton)

DIVISION SIX – Champions: Highley

Runners-up: Much Wenlock B; Third: Hadley USC

AVERAGES winner: Keith Banks (Much Wenlock)

SATURDAY A DIVISION – Champions: St Georges

Runners-up: Newport

AVERAGES winner: Jim Kellett (St Georges)

SATURDAY B DIVISION – Champions: Allscott

Runners-up: Chelmarsh

AVERAGES winner: Jayne Craggs (Allscott)

HARRIS CUP – Winners: Newport (Premier)

Runners-up: St Georges (P). Semi-finalists: Horsehay & Newport (Div 1)

ASHTON CUP – Winners: Wrockwardine Wood

Runners-up: Sir John Bayley. Semi-finalists: Bowring & Albrighton

ASHTON SHIELD – Winners: Sinclair

Runners-up: Allscott. Semi-finalists: Madeley CC & Charlton


Pool A - Maddocks Pool B - Edgmond


SENIOR INDIVIDUAL MERIT – Champion: Alan Jones (Broseley)

Runner-up: Ian Delves (Sir John Bayley) Semi-finalists: Karen Smith & Craig Baugh (both Bowring) Quarter-finalists: Phil Craggs & Dan Tipton (both Allscott), Tony Garmson (Wrockwardine Wood) & Ashley Gregory (Hadley USC)

DIXON DRISCOLL DOUBLES - winners: Tony Roche & Jon Madeley (Madeley CC)

Runners-up: Simon Davies & Ashley Gregory (Hadley USC) Semi-finalists: Paul Beer & Alison Cotton, Craig Baugh & Dan Lewis Quarter-finalists: Paul Evans & Jim Fletcher, Chris Lodge & Les Mumford, Peter Gaut & Joan Edwards, Paul Bradburn & Ian Thomas

MIXED DOUBLES – winners: Tony & Mandy Rhodes (St Georges)

Runners-up: Dave & Beth Lloyd (Bowring) Semi-finalists: Dave & Juliette King, Jamie King & Chelsea Gregory Quarter-finalists: Allan & Angela Gaut, Paul Beer & Alison Cotton, Josh & Ellie Wall, Luke Walmsley & Joan Edwards


UNDER-18 MERIT - Champion: Jack France (Newport)

Runner-up: Ellie Wall (St Georges)

Semi-finalists: Sally Clee (Wrockwardine Wood) & Jamie Fletcher (Sir John Bayley)

UNDER-15 MERIT - Champion: Aaron King (Bowring)

Runner-up: Liam Boot (Shifnal) Semi-finalists: Harry Church (Sinclair) & Sophie Stanley (Shifnal)


Winners – Aaron King & Beth Lloyd (Bowring)

Runners-up: Dave Lloyd & Ellie Wall (Bowring-St Georges)

Semi-finalists: Alex Rutter & Jamie Fletcher (Wrockwardine Wood-Sir John Bayley), Josh Cotton & Phil Jones (Wrockwardine Wood)

JUNIOR DIVISION DAY (for the Jack Jones Trophy):

Winners – Newport, Hadley USC, Sir John Bayley & Maddocks

Sam Millward, Justin Pegram, Emma Massey-Jones, Ashley Gregory, Jamie Fletcher & Amy Williams

Runners-up - Wrockwardine Wood-Sinclair

Phil Jones, Jodie Rutter, Alex Rutter, Josh Cotton, Harry Church, James O’Neill

Third place – Bowring-Allscott

Dave Lloyd, Beth Lloyd, Aaron King, Lauren Faulkner, Laura Taylor, Jade Brookes


1 - The Mid Shropshire team that retained the Shropshire junior inter-league championship in Ludlow, and the B team that won the consolation crown on the same day.

2 – The Shropshire team that won the British Ladies junior county championship – all six bowlers being from Mid Shropshire!