News‎ > ‎

Title Winners Galore!

posted Sep 29, 2014, 5:26 AM by Malcolm Fletcher
Newport’s buzzing bowlers are celebrating winning the league's first division championship - the club's third league title in Shropshire this year.

Having already wrapped up the Shropshire Premier and Wem titles, Newport’s Mid Shropshire A team ended the 2014 season 28 points clear of last year’s division one winners St Georges A after the final fixtures on Friday, September 26..

Fishes star Martyn France also topped the first division averages, but St Georges still managed a Mid Shropshire double.

The Dragons were crowned the first champions of the Dennis Lewis Thursday Division, finishing two points ahead of Hadley USC after both picked up maximum 40 point hauls from away fixtures on the last night of the campaign - at Stockton and Charlton respectively.

And St Georges also won Saturday Division A with Alison Cotton enjoying 15 straight wins to take the averages. Donnington Wood A won Saturday Division B with Martin Williams topping the averages.

Albrighton secured their second successive promotion by pipping Stockton to top spot in division two while Madeley Cricket Club B beat title rivals Allscott B 9-6 at home on Friday to finish top of the third division by just five points.

Mid Shropshire official are now busy planning for the special tribute night to late chairman Dennis Lewis, to be held at Wellington's Sir John Bayley Club on Saturday, October 4, from 6pm.

It will be centred around two challenge matches - a Mid Shropshire League 12 versus a Shropshire Ladies 12 on the bottom No. 1 green and MId Shropshire juniors past against present showdown on the No. 2. These will be followed by some fun events to raise money for charity before refreshments inside.