News‎ > ‎

Wraps are off 'new' league

posted Jan 15, 2013, 2:55 AM by Malcolm Fletcher   [ updated Jan 16, 2013, 12:04 PM ]
The Mid Shropshire League has a new name – and it’s official!

Having been sponsored by the same company since the 1980s, what has been the Bass and then Worthington’s backed organisation has now evolved into the Molson Coors Mid Shropshire League.

The name change was made at the league’s annual dinner on Saturday night at the Telford Whitehouse Hotel, approved by guest of honour George Southall who was representing Molson Coors at the function.

More than 160 attended the prize night at its new venue with Hadley USC crowned as first division champions and Wrockwardine Wood carrying off four divisional titles.

It is hoped that the programme from the evening, which includes the full list of 2012 season title winners, will appear on this website soon - but a selection of pictures from the evening are already on the Photo Album section of the site thanks to Mike Potter.

League chairman Dennis Lewis was the main speaker and he paid tribute to retiring fixture secretary Frank Booth, who got a special round of applause for his “excellent work”.

“Our aim is to make the Mid Shropshire the best league in the county. It is a bold statement, but that is our goal - and that can only achieved by having good officers,” said Lewis.

County president Geoff Balshaw, one of the guests of honour, responded: “The Mid Shropshire is already up there with the best leagues in the county.”

AND FINALLY, please remember that clubs voted to combine the league’s AGM with the February meeting on Tuesday the 5th at the Sir John Bayley Club (7pm). So the annual meeting date set for January 22 is CANCELLED.