Competition & Club News

Black Only For FInals

posted Mar 21, 2017, 6:21 AM by Malcolm Fletcher

Bowlers will only be allowed to wear BLACK trousers in the finals of all League competitions this year.

That's the message from League President Mike Potter, the county's competition secretary and BCGBA delegate.

He told Monday's County Executive meeting that, following this year's BCGBA rules revision meeting, black was now the only colour permissible for trousers worn by bowlers in all finals - at national, county, open and, he stressed, league level.


2017 Dates Here!

posted Mar 11, 2017, 12:50 PM by Malcolm Fletcher


Wednesday 24th May –qualifiers (6.30pm)

Saturday July 1st – Finals Day for last 16  


Saturday 22rd April (10am)



Saturday 13th May – 6pm start



Saturday 20th May – 2pm



Saturday 17th June – 6pm start



Saturday 24th June (10am)



Saturday 8th July – 6pm start



April 26th - prelims

May 17th - 1st Rnd

July 19 - 2nd Rnd

August 23rd – semi-finals

Saturday September 16th – final (6.30pm)



April 19th - prelims

April 26th -1st Rnd

June 28th - 2nd Rnd

August 23rd – semi-finals

Saturday September 2nd – final (6.30pm)



May 17th - prelims

June 14th - 1st Rd

June 28th -2nd Rnd (if required)

August 2nd – semi-finals

Saturday August 26th – final (6.30pm)


2017 Dates On The Way . . .

posted Mar 3, 2017, 11:53 AM by Malcolm Fletcher

Competition chief Phil King will unveil his list of finalised dates for 2017 at the League's March executive committee on Tuesday the 7th at the Sir John Bayley Club (7.30pm).

But, as a little taster for things to come, the first date for the diary is Saturday 22 April when it will be Mixed Doubles day . . .

Doubles Day At Sinclair

posted Jan 29, 2017, 7:13 AM by Malcolm Fletcher





£360 Total Prize Money - Winning Pair receive £150 - Limited to the first 32 Pairs

Morning Session - 10am or 11am start

Afternoon Session - 2pm or 3pm start

Finals Session (Last 8) - 6pm start

***** NO Practice *****

Prize Money (Subject to Full Entries)

Winners £150 per pair

Runners Ups £70 per pair

Semi-Finalists £30 per pair

Quarter-Finalists £20 per pair

Entries at £10 per pair to to:

Stuart Church

Telephone: 078 7785 7721


Approved by S.C.G.B.A. and affiliated to B.C.G.B.A.

All telephone entries MUST be confirmed by receipt of payment within 7 days of entering.

Include S.A.E. with postal entries for confirmation of dates or map. NO PAY - NO PLAY

Cheques payable to Sinclair BC

Club AGMs

posted Jan 5, 2017, 1:02 PM by Malcolm Fletcher   [ updated Feb 6, 2017, 8:09 AM ]


Wednesday 8 February - Donnington Wood BC at the Wendy House at 7.30pm.

Tuesday 14 February - Newport BC at the clubhouss (7pm) and Bylet BC at 8pm at the club. "All existing and new members welcome!" says Chris Chamberlain.  

Wednesday 15 February - Bridgnorth BC AGM and League signing-on night in the Clubhouse at 7.30pm. "All members welcome," says Dave Winwood 

Saturday 18 February - Allscott BC at the Club (7.30pm). "Old and new members and bowlers of all abilities welcome," said a club spokesperson 

Monday 27 February - Broseley BC at Broseley Social Club (7.30pm)

Updated Monday 6 February

League's Views Taken Into Account

posted Nov 27, 2016, 11:04 AM by Malcolm Fletcher

The Shropshire association's dates for 2017 have now been finalised and released.

They show that Mid Shropshire's plea for the county junior inter-league to be played later in the season and on a Sunday have been taken into account.

It will go ahead on Sunday 17 September, at venues yet to be decided, when  League officials will do their utmost to ensure there is no repeat of the problem of players selected not turning up . . . as happened at Malpas in April.

The full list of county dates is available on the SCGBA website

First Club Annual Meeting . . .

posted Nov 17, 2016, 4:14 AM by Malcolm Fletcher

During the closed season this part of the League website will also be used for clubs to publicise details of the annual meetings.

First up is the St Georges AGM on Sunday 20th November at 12.30 in the function room at the Sports & Social  Club

To get you club's annual meeting or pre-season / signing on meetings on here please contact League general secretary Malcolm Fletcher . .

Time To Get Those Trophies Back . . .

posted Oct 27, 2016, 12:17 PM by Malcolm Fletcher

Competition secretary Phil King has issued an urgent reminder that he needs the following trophies returned to him at or before the League's November meeting on Tuesday the 1st:

Senior Merit - Craig Owen

Dixon & Driscoll Doubles - Simon Oldcorn & Pete Millington

Division 3 winners - Highley

Under-25 Merit - Ashley Gregory (and Under-15 Merit runners-up from years ago!!!)

Harris Cup - Newport

Early Pointers For 2017. . .

posted Oct 24, 2016, 11:56 AM by Malcolm Fletcher

Competition secretary Phil King will try and produce a calendar of events for 2017 that does not have a cup final on a Bank Holiday weekend.

Formal rules for the Under-25 and Over-60s Merits will be introduced at the AGM in January.

Averages Award Winners Are . . .

posted Oct 6, 2016, 12:24 PM by Malcolm Fletcher

Division 1 - Mark Worthington (Donnington Wood A) 

Division 2 -  Dave East (Highley A) 

Division 3 -  Robert Smith (Chelmarsh A)

And, bearing in mind rule 10 (c) and the six games in the top flights on Fridays ruling bowlers out of the running:

Division 4 - Gary Mountford (Worfield A) 

Division 5 - Dickie Oliver (SJ Bayley C) 
Division 6 - Andy Styles (Donnington Wood D) 

Saturday Division - Pete Millington (Trench)  

Dennis Lewis Thursday Division - Jamie King (Bowring A)

This official list is to be ratified at the League's November meeting so anyone who spots a mistake or has any question should contact either Ric Hudson or Malcolm Fletcher

It is hoped ALL award winners will attend the League's annual presentation dinner on Saturday 14 January at the Telford Whitehouse Hotel to collect their prize in person and receive the recognition they deserve . . .


1-10 of 52