Competition News‎ > ‎

Ashton Cup - The 8 Time Wonders Of Wood

posted Sep 9, 2017, 1:38 AM by Malcolm Fletcher   [ updated Sep 11, 2017, 12:59 AM by stephen wall ]
Wrockwardine Wood are starting to feel that the Ashton Cup belongs to them.

They got their hands on the trophy for an excellent eighth time when beating Worfield in this year’s final on Bowring's Premier green on Saturday 2nd September

They came from behind to get the better of their fourth division rivals by 21 shots in the climax of the League’s main knockout for Monday night teams after a one chalk handicap advantage was added on.

The villagers made a fine start and led by two shots after the first four thanks to a fine 21-5 win by Gary Mountford, watched closely by referee Terry Whitehouse.

But Sophie Meredith's 21-8 win in a shared middle four put the Wrockites 10 chalks to the good and player of the match Tim Cotton's 21-7 card at No.9 got them over the line.

Proud Wood skipper Bob Elcock said: “Commiserations to Worfield – you gave us a real good game”, after his Worfield counterpart John Edwards had thanked his players and supporters.

League president Mike Potter, who made the presentations, said: “It takes two teams to make a final and Worfield, you did yourselves proud.

“You played with dignity and pushed Wrockwardine Wood all the way – and they must feel like the Ashton Cup is almost their property now!”

Final scores Worfield (+4) lost to Wrockwardine Wood C (+5) by 21:

Gary Mountford 21 Alan Ghaut 5, Jackie Perry 11 Barry Griffin 21, John Edwards 20 Bob Elcock 21, Adam Mountford 18 Alan Morgan 21, Brenda Edwards 16 Eddie Thorner 21, Debbie Jones 21 Dennis Sims 17, Roger Crook 21 Ian Jones 19, Andrew Perry 8 Sophie Meredith 21, Tony Jones 7 Tim Cotton 21, John Preece 21 Roger Cotton 17.