League News 2018‎ > ‎

League Duo Clash In Shropshire Cup Final

posted Aug 3, 2018, 5:26 AM by Malcolm Fletcher
Two clubs who play in the League clash in the Shropshire Cup final tomorrow - Saturday 4th August - in  Wellington.

And village club Highley know they need to stop a juggernaut if they are to become the first non-Shrewsbury winners of the trophy at the Sir John Bayley Club (6.30pm start).

For their final opponents on the bottom green, the Prince of Wales Hotel, are in top gear with three club sides having reached cup finals.

Ian Smith’s first team are also flying high in the Tanners Shropshire League first division and, as first winners of the Shropshire Cup in its non-Premier guise in 2016, they know how to get the job done.

The Prince - who play in the Dennis Lewis Thursday Division - hammered holders Castlefields by 66 shots in the semi-finals and Smith declared: “We are looking forward to the final now and hope to enjoy it as it will be another big challenge for us to play yet another strong team."

And Highley proved that by overcoming last year's runners-up Telepost in the last four, Ian Thompson the 21-2 hero for skipper Geoff Wylde’s south Shropshire side.

They have a number of Staffordshire stars in their ranks and have not given up hope of winning the Mid Shropshire League title, even though they currently trail leaders St Georges.

For the Dragons still have to go to Highley, who end the campaign with two home games before a last night crunch away to reigning champions Hadley USC.

Saturday’s Shropshire Cup final pairings - Highley v Prince of Wales Hotel:

Andy James v Tracy Ryan, Andy Jones v Darren Powis, Ben Dixon v Conrad Clapham, Geoff Wylde v Nicki Hotchkiss.

Dave East v Ian Smith, Steve Wright v Paul Marshall, Ray Bishop v Graeme Wornell, Darrell Handley v Nigel Ferrington.

Ian Thompson v Ian Marshall, Bill Staite v Rob Jones, Mark Jones v Chris Jones, Stuart Gittings v Clair Barker.

Reserves – Highley: Greg Carr, Jess Hurst, John Walsh; Prince Hotel: Ian Payne, Mike Hughes, Geoff Davies.