League News 2018‎ > ‎

Summary Of The 2018 AGM

posted Jan 31, 2018, 12:16 PM by Malcolm Fletcher
Chairman Sean Round thanked all serving officers for their efforts in 2017, one of the highlights of the year being another successful annual presentation dinner earlier in the month.

Secretary Malcolm Fletcher expressed his pride in the award of a £7,145 grant from Sport England to boost coaching resources to help clubs try and attract more new and young recruits to safeguard the future of the League. He also announced that main sponsors Molson Coors would continue their £800 a year backing in 2018.

Treasurer Celia Miles reported a small profit of £35 on 2017 and said that, depending on the number of teams competing in the coming season, the League would have to consider increasing League and match fees. She will produce figures to be discussed by delegates at the March executive meeting.

All officers were re-elected, with the exception of Steve Roberts who was succeeded by Dave Evans (Trench) as vice-chairman. But there were no volunteers for the proposed new post of assistant secretary . . .

All Rule Changes proposed by the Future Ideas Sub Group were passed – and all but one of those put forward by fixture secretary Ric Hudson. Bowring’s ‘playing order on results system’ rule change was passed 12 votes to 10 after a recount, but Madeley Cricket Club’s bid to reduce numbers to 10-a-side in the Monday divisions was rejected with only 4 votes in favour. Shifnal did not attend and so there was nobody to propose their changes.

Hadley USC’s application to field a new B team in division 3 on Fridays was accepted, along with applicants Elephant & Castle (Shawbury) who will be newcomers to the Dennis Lewis Thursday Division.

The constitution of the League’s various divisions and stdart and finish dates for them will be finalised at the March executive meeting.

With the business of the AGM completed in just over an hour, the meeting was followed by a short ceremony to confirm life memberships upon Steve Wall, Frank Booth and John Hughes.