League News 2019‎ > ‎

Leaders Of The Revolution!

posted Jan 16, 2020, 11:43 AM by Malcolm Fletcher   [ updated Jan 18, 2020, 2:45 AM by Stephen Wall ]
The League’s bowlers and officers are proud to have been lauded as one of the leaders of a bowls revolution.

County President Mike Beckett paid the tribute at League’s annual presentation dinner when he was one of five guests of honour on a night when St Georges dominated the prize-giving.

Mike, the man behind the ground-breaking computerised results system that gives instant updates, told the 180-plus diners: “I first became involved with your League in 2012 with the results service.

“I came to a League meeting and they were expecting a young computer whizzkid – and they got two old senior citizens in me and my wife Mary!

“Now there are 160 leagues using the service so you are a go-ahead, revolutionary league,” he added in proposing a toast to the Mid Shropshire League.

Mike attended Saturday’s function at the Telford Whitehouse Hotel with his daughter Joanne and was saluted with huge applause for the way he had bravely carried on as President following the death of his wife Mary early last year.

He presented the divisional winners trophies with St Georges having most to celebrate as they regained both the first division and Dennis Lewis Thursday Division championships, while the club’s B, C and D teams also picked up prizes.

It was a proud night for St Georges star Sonya Lucas who, having made history as the first female winner of the division one averages in 2017, received the honour again, in addition to helping the Dragons win the County Cup again.

Two-in-a-row County Merit winner Spencer Clarke, Shropshire Development Officer Pauline Wilson, County Competition secretary Mike Potter and retiring league chairman Sean Round were the other guests at what is the biggest bowls prize-giving function in the county.

“It is the eighth year we have held the annual dinner at the Whitehouse Hotel and the meal was excellent and everyone seems to have had a good time,” said general secretary Malcolm Fletcher.

“So it is only right that I say a massive thank you to everyone who attended for making it another special evening for the League - I thought this bubble would have burst by now, but long may it rise high and higher!”



DIVISION 1 – Champions: St Georges A

                        Runners-up: Hadley USC A; Third: Sir John Bayley A

                        AVERAGES winner: Sonya Lucas (St Georges A)


DIVISION 2 – Champions: Broseley A

                        Runners-up: Bridgnorth A; Third: Newport B

                        AVERAGES winner: Jonathan Davies (Shifnal A)


DIVISION 3 – Champions: Hadley United Services B

                        Runners-up: St Georges B; Third: Much Wenlock A

                        AVERAGES winner: Keith Banks (Much Wenlock A)


DIVISION 4 – Champions: Horsehay C

                        Runners-up: Allscott Heath C; Third: St Georges C

                        AVERAGES winner: Brian Evason (Horsehay C)


DIVISION 5 – Champions: Newport D

                        Runners-up: Trench C; Third: Albrighton B

                        AVERAGES winner: Ken Honnor (Madeley CC D)


DIVISION 6 – Champions: Highley

                        Runners-up: Maddocks B; Third: St Georges D

                        AVERAGES winner: Lol Russon (Highley)



                        Runners-up: Newport; Third: Elephant & Castle Shawbury

                        AVERAGES winner: Callum Wraight (Elephant & Castle)


SATURDAY DIVISION – Champions: Wrockwardine Wood

                        Runners-up: Sinclair; Third: Allscott Heath

                        AVERAGES winner: Shavorne Osborne (Trench)