League News‎ > ‎

Mid Shropshire At The Double!

posted Jun 3, 2016, 12:51 AM by Malcolm Fletcher   [ updated Jun 3, 2016, 12:54 AM ]

League officers are delighted to announce that Mid Shropshire will field two teams in the Shropshire senior inter-league championship in Wem on Saturday 11 June.

Selectors Sean Round, Ian Pessall and Chris Lodge checked on the availability of 24 bowlers with the aim of entering the usual single team in the eight-a-side one day championship.

But then the League was approached by Martin Gaut and Jamie King with a view to entering a second team, primarily of Thursday Division bowlers, and - with the agreement of county competition secretary Phil Scott - that is what has been done. 

The following squads (with non-playing captains) were sorted out a meeting last night.

MSBL A - Jason Wilson, Jim Gaut, Steve Pessall (St Georges), Kate Suggett, Karen Smith (Bowring), Ian Thomas, Ian Delves (Wrock Wood), Andy Garbett, Richard Jones (Horsehay), Peter Spragg (Sinclair), Mark Worthington (Donn Wood). 

Non-playing captain is Sean Round.

MSBL B (Thursday Division) - Martin Gaut, Martin Williams, Angela Gaut  (Wrock Wood), Jamie King, Jamie Fletcher, Dave Brown (Bowring), Ian Gaut, Matthew Rhodes (St Georges), Darren Lord (Sinclair), Chris Worthington (Donn Wood), Chris Grocott (Newport).

Non-playing captain is either Chris Lodge or Malcolm Fletcher.

Wem BC and Wem Albion will host the qualifying group stages from 10am (hopefully with four teams in each one), with the semi-finals, final and presentation buffet to follow later in the day at Wem USC.

The draw for the groups should appear on the SCGBA website over the weekend and all MSBL bowlers selected will receive official notification in a letter with full details of the day via their club secretary early next week.